Nursing CE Requirements by State

SEARCH BY STATE TO SEE THE CE REQUIREMENTS FOR RENEWAL IN YOUR AREA.

State CE Requirements for RNs CE Requirements for LPNs Special Requirements and Notes State Governing Agency COURSES WE OFFER

Alabama

RNs: 24 contact hours every 2 years.

LPNs: 24 contact hours every 2 years.

Special Requirements for both RNs and LPNs: 4 contact hours of Alabama Board - provided continuing education related to Board functions, the Nurse Practice Act, regulations, professional conduct, and accountability is required for the first license renewal. Licenses are valid from January 1 of each odd-numbered year and expires December 31 of each even-numbered year.

Alabama Board of Nursing

COMING SOON...

 

Alaska

RNs: Two of the following three are required for license renewal: 30 contact hours, 30 hours professional nursing activities, or 320 hours nursing employment.

LPNs: Two of the following three are required for license renewal: 30 contact hours, 30 hours professional nursing activities, or 320 hours nursing employment.

Special Requirements: none

Alaska Board of Nursing Dept. of Commercial and Economical Development Division of Occupational Licensing

COMING SOON...

Arizona

RNs: CE not required.

LPNs: CE not required.

Special Requirements: none

Arizona State Board of Nursing

Courses not required.

Arkansas

RNs: 15 contact hours every two years, or certification or recertification during the renewal period by a national certifying body, or completion of a recognized academic course in nursing or a related field.

LPNs: 15 contact hours every two years, or certification or recertification during the renewal period by a national certifying body, or completion of a recognized academic course in nursing or a related field.

Special Requirements: none

Arkansas State Board of Nursing

COMING SOON...

California

RNs: 30 contact hours every 2 years.

LPNs: 30 contact hours every 2 years.

Special Requirements: none

State of California Board of Registered Nursing

COMING SOON...

Colorado

RNs: CE not required.

LPNs: CE not required.

Special Requirements: none

Colorado Board of Nursing

Courses not required.

Connecticut

RNs: CE not required.

LPNs: CE not required.

Special Requirement: none

Connecticut Board of Examiners for Nursing Division of Health Systems Regulation

Courses not required.

Delaware

RNs: 30 contact hours every 2 years.

LPNs: 24 contact hours every 2 years.

Special Requirements for both RNs and LPNs: 3 of the 30 hours must be in the area of substance abuse.

Delaware Board of Nursing

COMING SOON...

District of Columbia

RNs: 24 hours of continuing education every 2 years.

LPNs: 18 hours of continuing education every 2 years.

Special Requirements for both RNs and LPNs: 3 hours must be focused on HIV/AIDS and you are also required to complete 2 hours of instruction in cultural competency focusing on patients who identify as LGBTQ.

District of Columbia Board of Nursing

COMING SOON...

Florida

RNs: 24 hours of continuing education every 1 year. 

LPNs: 24 hours of continuing education every 1 year.

Special Requirements for both RNs and LPNs: The 24 hours must include 2 hours on Prevention of Medical Errors, 2 hours in Laws and Rules that govern the practice of Nursing, 2 hours in recognizing impairment in the workplace. For every 4 years, 2 hours on Human Trafficking is needed. HIV/AIDS is now a one-time, 1- hour CE requirement to be completed prior to the first renewal. Domestic Violence CE is now a 2 hour requirement every third renewal (every 6 years). Since Domestic Violence is a 2-hour requirement, you will have 26 hours of CE during the renewal period when Domestic Violence is taken.

Florida Board of Nursing

COMING SOON...

Georgia

RNs: 30 hours of continuing education every 2 years.

LPNs: 20 hours of continuing education every 2 years.

Special Requirements for RNs: For more renewal options for RNs click here.

Special Requirements for LPNs: For more renewal options for LPNs click here.

Georgia Board of Nursing

COMING SOON...

Guam

RNs: 30 hours of continuing education every 2 years from September 30th.

LPNs: 30 hours of continuing education every 2 years from September 30th.

Special Requirements: none

Guam Board of Nurse Examiners

COMING SOON...

Hawaii

RNs: 30 hours of continuing education every 2 years.

LPNs: 30 hours of continuing education every 2 years.

Special Requirements for both RNs and LPNs: for more learning activity options click here and see pages 18 to 29.

Hawaii Board of Nursing Professional and Vocational Licensing Division

COMING SOON...

Idaho

RNs: see Special Requirements for information on renewal.

LPNs: see Special Requirements for information on license renewal.

Special Requirements for both RNs and LPNs: Licenses are renewed every 2 years for professional nurses. Licenses expire on August 31st every odd year.

You shall complete or comply with at least two of any of the learning activities listed below within the two year renewal period.

a. Practice: 

i. Current nursing specialty certification as defined in Section 402

ii. 100 hours of practice or simulation practice

b. Education, Continuing Education, E-learning, and In-service:

i. 15 contact hours of continuing education

ii. Completion of a minimum of 1 semester credit hour of post-licensure academic education

iii. Completion of a Board-recognized refresher course

Idaho Board of Nursing

COMING SOON...

Illinois 

RNs: 20 contact hours every two years.

LPNs: 20 contact hours every two years.

Special Requirements for both RNs and LPNs: 1 of the 20 contact hours must be a sexual harassment prevention training course.

Illinois Department of Professional Regulation

COMING SOON...

Indiana

RNs: CE not required.

LPNs: CE not required.

Special Requirements: none

Illinois Department of Professional Regulation

Courses not required.

Iowa

RNs: 36 contact hours every 3 years. 24 contact hours every 3 years for a license issued for less than 3 years. For renewal of a license that has been issued for less than three years, the requirement is 24 contact hours. 12 contact hours not more than 12 months old when submitted for reactivation to reactivate from an inactive status.

LPNs: 36 contact hours every 3 years. 24 contact hours every 3 years for a license issued for less than 3 years. For renewal of a license that has been issued for less than three years, the requirement is 24 contact hours. 12 contact hours not more than 12 months old when submitted for reactivation to reactivate from an inactive status.

Special Requirements for both RNs and LPNs: It is also required that RNs and LPNs who regularly examine, attend, counsel or treat dependent adults or children in Iowa complete training related to the identification and reporting of child/dependent adult abuse. The licensee is required to complete at least 2 hours of training every 5years.

Iowa Board of Nursing

COMING SOON...

Kansas

RNs: 30 contact hours every 2 years. 

LPNs: 30 contact hours every 2 years. 

Special Requirements for both RNs and LPNs: There is no maximum on the number of independent study hours that can be obtained.

Kansas State Board of Nursing

COMING SOON...

Kentucky

RNs: 14 contact hours or one of the other competency options stated by the Kentucky Board of Nursing. See state requirements in Special Requirements. 

LPNs: 14 approved contact hours or one of the other competency options stated by the Kentucky Board of Nursing.

Special Requirements for RNs: Required courses:

- Pediatric Abusive Head Trauma, also known as "Shaken Baby Syndrome"

- HIV/AIDS, all nurses are required to earn 2 contact hours.

See the state website for additional information on license renewal.

Kentucky Board of Nursing

COMING SOON...

Louisiana

RNs: The annual continuing education requirement is based on employment: 5 contact hours (full-time nursing practice), 10 contact hours (part-time nursing practice), or 15 contact hours (not employed or worked less than 160 hours).

LPNs: The annual continuing education requirement is based on employment: 5 contact hours (full-time nursing practice), 10 contact hours (part-time nursing practice), or 15 contact hours (not employed or worked less than 160 hours).

Special Requirements for RNs: for RNs with employer verified nursing practice of 1,600 hours or more for the current year (10 full months at 40 hours per week), a minimum of 5 contact hours of nursing CEs are required each year to renew.

For an RN with employer verified nursing practice for the year was 159 hours or less or the nurse was either unemployed or self-employed for the current year, a minimum of 15 contact hours is required.

For RNs whose employer verified nursing practice was between 160 hours to 1,599 hours for the current calendar year, the RN will need a minimum of 10 contact hours to qualify for annual renewal.

Special Requirements for LPNs: An LPN who has met the education and training requirements may perform select functions except as limited and under supervision as stated in the regulation.

 

 

 

Louisiana State Board of Nursing

COMING SOON...

Maine

RNs: CE not required.

LPNs: CE not required.

Special Requirements: none

Maine State Board of Nursing

Courses not required.

Maryland

RNs: No CE required, but an approved refresher course is needed.

LPNs: CE not required.

Special Requirements: none

Maryland Board of Nursing

COMING SOON...

Massachusetts 

RNs: 15 contact hours every 2 years.

LPNs: 15 contact hours every 2 years.

Special Requirements: none 

Massachusetts Board of Registration in Nursing Division of Professional Licensure

COMING SOON...

Michigan

RNs: 25 hours of board approved continuing education, with at least 1 hour in pain and symptom management, within the 2 years immediately preceding the expiration date of their license.

LPNs: 25 hours of board approved continuing education, with at least 1 hour in pain and symptom management, within the 2 years immediately preceding the expiration date of their license.

Special Requirements for both RNs and LPNs: You must complete a 1 time training in identifying victims of human trafficking and 1 hour in pain and symptom management.

Michigan Department of Community Health Bureau Of Health Professions Michigan Board Of Nursing

COMING SOON...

Minnesota 

RNs: 24 contact hours every 2 years.

LPNs: 12 contact hours every 2 years.

Special Requirements: none 

Minnesota Board of Nursing

COMING SOON...

Mississippi

RNs: CE not required.

LPNs: CE not required.

Special Requirements: none

Mississippi Board of Nursing

Courses not required.

Missouri

RNs: CE not required.

LPNs: CE not required.

Special Requirements: none

Missouri State Board of Nursing

Courses not required.

Montana

RNs: CE not required.

LPNs: CE not required.

Special Requirements: none

Montana State Board of Nursing

Courses not required.

Nebraska

RNs: 20 contact hours within past 2 years. Must be related to the practice of nursing. At least 10 of the 20 hours must be formally peer reviewed and approved continuing education. Up to 4 hours may be CPR or BLS courses.

LPNs: 20 contact hours within past 2 years. Must be related to the practice of nursing. At least 10 of the 20 hours must be formally peer reviewed and approved continuing education. Up to 4 hours may be CPR or BLS courses.

Special Requirements for both RNs and LPNs: No more than 4 hours are CPR or BLS classes.

Nebraska Deptartment of Health and Human Services Regulation and Licensure Credentialing Division Nursing Support Section

COMING SOON...

Nevada

RNs: 30 hours of continuing education every 2 years.

LPNs: 30 hours of continuing education every 2 years.

For both RNs and LPNs: One-time mandatory Bio-Terrorism course of 4 hours.

Nevada State Board of Nursing

COMING SOON...

New Hampshire

RNs: 30 contact hours every 2 years. 

LPNs: 30 contact hours every 2 years. 

For both RNs and LPNs: There is no limit to the number of contact hours that can be completed through independent study.

New Hampshire Board of Nursing

COMING SOON...

New Jersey

RNs: 30 contact hours every two years.

LPNs: 30 contact hours every two years.

For both RNs and LPNs: Mandatory 1 contact hour course on Organ and Tissue Donation and mandatory 1 contact hour course on Prescription Opioid Drugs.

New Jersey Board of Nursing

COMING SOON...

New Mexico

RNs: 30 hours of continuing education every 2 years.

LPNs: 30 hours of continuing education every 2 years.

Special Requirements: none

New Mexico Board of Nursing

COMING SOON...

New York

RNs: see Special Requirements

LPNs: see Special Requirements

Special Requirements for both RNs and LPNs: 1 time mandatory 2 hour course on Child Abuse course and mandatory 3 hour course on Infectious Control every 4 years for healthcare professionals.

Division of Professional Licensing Services NY State Education Department Nurse

COMING SOON...

North Carolina

RNs: 30 hours of continuing education every 2 years. See Special Requirements for additional renewal options.

LPNs: 30 hours of continuing education every 2 years. See Special Requirements for additional renewal options.

Special Requirements for both RNs and LPNs: reistatement or relicensure, a plan for continued competence and completion of one of the following is required:


- National certification or re-certification by a national credentialing body recognized by the Board.
- 30 contact hours of continued education.
- Completion of a Board approved refresher course.
- Completion of a minimum of two semester hours of post-licensure academic education related to nursing practice.
- 15 contact hours of continued education and completion of a nursing project as principal investigator or co-investigator to include statement of problem, project objectives, methods, date of completion and summary of findings.
- 15 contact hours of continued education and authoring or co-authoring a nursing related article, paper, book or book chapter.
- 15 contact hours of continued education and developing and conducting a nursing continuing education presentation or presentations totaling a minimum of five contact hours, including program brochure or course syllabi, objectives, date and location of presentation, and approximate number of attendees.
- 15 contact hours of continued education and 640 hours of active practice within previous 2 years.

North Carolina Board of Nursing

COMING SOON...

North Dakota

RNs: 12 contact hours of continuing education every 2 years plus additional continued competence requirements.

LPNs: 12 contact hours of continuing education every 2 years plus additional continued competence requirements.

Special Requirements for RNs and LPNs: See additional information here.

North Dakota Board of Nursing

COMING SOON...

Ohio

RNs: 24 contact hours every 2 years. 

LPNs: 24 contact hours every 2 years.

Special Requirements for both RNs and LPNs: At least 1 contact hour must be related to Chapters 4723, 1-23 of the Ohio Nurse Practice Code - First time renewals exempt from continuing education. 

Ohio Board of Nursing

COMING SOON...

Oklahoma

RNs: 24 contact hours every 2 years. See other renewal options in Special Requirements.

LPNs: 24 contact hours every 2 years. See other renewal options in Special Requirements.

Special Requirements for both RNs and LPNs: You must complete one of the following options within every 2 year renewal period.

1) verify 520 hours of employment a year.  

2) complete 24 hours of continuing education.

3) verify current certification in a nursing specialty area.

4) complete a board approved refresher course,

5) complete 6 academic semester credits hours of coursework at the current level of licensure or higher.

Oklahoma Board of Nursing

COMING SOON...

Oregon

RNs: see Special Requirements for renewal information.

LPNs: see Special Requirements for renewal information.

Special Requirements for both RNs and LPNs: 1 time requirement for 7 hours of pain management-related CE. 1 of these hours must be a course to be provided by the Oregon Pain Management Commission. The remaining 6 hours can be your choice of pain management topics. Once this requirement is fulfilled, there is no additional CE requirements for renewal.

Oregon State Board of Nursing

COMING SOON...

Pennsylvania

RNs: 30 contact hours every 2 years.

LPNs: See Special Requirements for information on renewal requirements.

RNs: You must complete 2 hours of Approved Child Abuse and Recognition and report training every renewal (Act 31). You renew either April 30 or October 30 odd and even years.

LPNs: You must complete 2 hours of Approved Child Abuse and Recognition and report training every renewal (Act 31).

Pennsylvania State Board of Nursing

COMING SOON...

Rhode Island

RNs: 10 contact hours every 2 years. 

LPNs: 10 contact hours every 2 years. 

Special Requirements: none

Rhode Island Board of Nurse Registration and Nursing Education Office of Health Professionals Regulation

COMING SOON...

South Carolina

RNs: 30 contact hours every 2 years.

LPNs: 30 contact hours every 2 years.

Special Requirements or RNs and LPNs: Demonstration of competency for renewal of an active license every 2 years requires documented evidence of at least 1 of the following requirements during the licensure period:

- Completion of thirty contact hours from a continuing education provider recognized by the board

- Maintenance of certification or re-certification by a national certifying body recognized by the board

- Completion of an academic program of study in nursing or a related field recognized by the board

- Verification of competency and the number of hours practiced as evidenced by employer certification on a form approved by the Board.

See additional renewal options here.

The State Board of Nursing for South Carolina: South Carolina State Board of Nursing

COMING SOON...

South Dakota

RNs: CE not required.

LPNs: CE not required.

Special Requirements: none

South Dakota Board of Nursing

Courses not required.

Tennessee

RNs: see Special Requirements.

LPNs: see Special Requirements.

Special requirements for RNs and LPNs: Continuing Education for relicensure is not mandatory in Tennessee. However, mandatory continuing competency is required in Tennessee. In order to maintain continued competence, the board requires the nurse to have practiced in nursing in the last 5 years and additionally, the Board sets out standards of competence and requirements to maintain competence. 

See additional state competency requirements here.

Tennessee State Board of Nursing

COMING SOON...

Texas

RNs: 20 contact hours every 2 years. 

LPNs: 20 contact hours every 2 years. 

Special Requirements for both RNs and LPNs: There is a targeted 1-time, 2-contact hour CE requirement for those practicing in an emergency room setting for Forensic Evidence Collection.

Texas Board of Nurse Examiners

COMING SOON...

Utah

RNs: see Special Requirements for information on license renewal.

LPNs: see Special Requirements for information on license renewal. 

Special Requirements for both RNs and LPNs: Renewal of a license requires one of the following every 2 years: 30 contact hours, OR 200 practice hours and 15 contact hours, OR 400 practice hours.

See state website for additional renewal options.

Utah State Board of Nursing Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing

COMING SOON...

Vermont

RNs: CE not required.

LPNs: CE not required.

Special Requirements: none

Vermont Board of Nursing

Courses not required.

Virginia

RNs: see Special Requirements for information on license renewal.

LPNs: see Special Requirements for information on license renewal.

Special Requirements for both RNs and LPNs: To renew an active nursing license, a licensee shall complete at least 1 of the following learning activities or courses:

1. Current specialty certification by a national certifying organization, as defined in 18VAC90-19-10

2. Completion of a minimum of three credit hours of post-licensure academic education relevant to nursing practice, offered by a regionally accredited college or university

3. A board-approved refresher course in nursing

4. Completion of nursing-related, evidence-based practice project or research study

5. Completion of publication as the author or co-author during a renewal cycle

6. Teaching or developing a nursing-related course resulting in no less than three semester hours of college credit, a 15-week course, or specialty certification

7. Teaching or developing nursing-related continuing education courses for up to 30 contact hours

8. Fifteen contact hours of workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses relevant to the practice of nursing and 640 hours of active practice as a nurse

9. Thirty contact hours of workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses relevant to the practice of nursing.

See state website for additional renewal options.

Virginia Board of Nursing

COMING SOON...

Washington

RNs: see Special Requirements for information on license renewal.

LPNs: see Special Requirements for information on license renewal.

Special Requirements for both RNs and LPNs: You are required to keep documentation showing at least 531 hours of active practice and 45 clock hours of continuing education within a three year cycle. The first cycle starts on your first birthday after initial licensure. You must attest every three years to reflect you have met the requirements for both practice and continuing education. Do not send documentation to the Nursing Commission in support of the attestations unless notified of an audit via your renewal notice. The Nursing Care Quality Assurance Commission adopted rules in WAC 246-840-200 through 260 for an independent continuing competency program effective January 2011 and recently updated effective January 2016.

License renewals will continue to be annual. The Nursing Commission sends a courtesy renewal notice to RNs and LPNs 90 days prior to license expiration. The renewal notice will indicate the continuing competency due date. Notice: You will see the attestation on your renewal notice when your renewal cycle ends. It is your responsibility to inform the Nursing Care Quality Assurance Commission of any change in address, email, and telephone number, whether renewing or not.

Washington State Nursing Care Quality Assurance Commission

COMING SOON...

West Virginia

RNs: 12 contact hours every 1 year. License expiration is every October 31st. 

LPNs: 24 contact hours every 1 year. Licenses expire every June 30th.

Special Requirements for RNs: First take 2 contact hours of continuing education in mental health conditions common to veterans and family members of veterans to include screening for conditions such as post-traumatic stress disorder, risk of suicide, depression and grief, and prevention of suicide. 3 contact hours of continuing education in drug diversion training and best practice prescribing of controlled substances are also required. This could be accomplished by:

1. Completing 12 contact hours of CE from an approved CE provider

2. Completing 6 contact hours of CE from an approved CE provider which may include 2 contact hours of self-study and one of the following completed during the reporting period:

A. National certification initially earned or in effect the entire reporting period
B. Completion of a nursing research project as principal investigator, co-investigator or project director
C. Published a nursing related article in a national nursing or healthcare journal
D. Participated as a clinical preceptor for at least one student or one new employee undergoing orientation and have one hundred-twenty hours of one-on-one relationship as a clinical preceptor during the reporting period
E. Completion of an approved nursing refresher or re-entry course

 

Special Requirements for LPNs: You are required to complete 24 contact hours of continuing education and engage in 400 clock hours of LPN practice every 2 year reporting period. Reporting of continuing education occurs every 2 years on even years.

You must complete a time requirement of 2 contact hours of end-of-life care including pain management, 3 contact hours in substance abuse each 2 year period.

See state website for more information.

West Virginia State Board of Examiners for Registered Professional Nurses

COMING SOON...

Wisconsin

RNs: CE not required.

LPNs: CE not required.

Special Requirements: none

Wyoming State Board of Nursing

Courses not required.

Wyoming

RNs: 20 contact hours every 2 years. See Special Requirements for additional renewal options.

LPNs: 20 contact hours every 2 years. See Special Requirements for more renewal options. 

Special Requirements for both RNs and LPNs: Other renewal options:

1. 2 years Combination of Nursing practice and contact hours Minimum 1600 hours in Nursing practice in the last 5 years

2. Minimum 500 hours in Nursing practice in the last 2 years

3.Passing NCLEX within the last 5 years

4. National certification in specialty area in last 5 years

5.Completion of a refresher or orientation program in the last 5 years

See state website for additional renewal options.

Wyoming State Board of Nursing

COMING SOON...